Ambartsumian’ s view on astronomy of XX century

Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory

Byurakan  Astrophysical  Observatory(BAO) was founded in 1946 on the initiative of academician Victor Ambartsumian, who became the first director of the observatory. It is located on the picturesque southern slope of the mountain Aragatz. At the observatory five observational instruments are installed the larger ones being 2.6 m Cassegrain telescope and 1m Schmidt telescope. Scientific researches of the observatory are related mainly with the instability phenomena taking place in the Universe. Since 1946 numerous scientific meetings were held in Byurakan including four symposia and a colloquium of the IAU.

The architectural ensemble of the observatory which consists of two — the functional part containing the telescope towers, administrative and laboratory buildings, conference hall, guest house, etc and the campus is designed by the famous Armenian architect Samvel Safarian.

Besides the scientific research the observatory fulfils an informative activity as well organizing excursions and lectures for amateurs.

Since 1998 the Byurakan Observatory bears the name of V.A. Ambartsumian.